New Year Honours named

Michael Parker*, Richard Williams, Terry Lazenby

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to specialist publicationArticle


The Queen's New Year Honors List contained the name of three members of IChemE for their contribution towards society. Michael Parker, former CEO of British Nuclear Fuels Limited (BNFL), was awarded a CBE for his services to the energy industry. Parker studied chemical engineering at the University of Manchester and was president-CEO of Dow Chemical before moving to BNFL in 2003. Richard Williams, vice president of the Royal Academy of Engineering and head of the Institute of Particle Science at the University of Leeds, was also awarded an OBE. Terry Lazenby, chairman of the Engineering Construction Industry Training Board (ECITB), received MBE for his services to skills and training. Lazenby worked with BP, where he was the chief engineer and technology director/exploration.

Original languageEnglish
Number of pages1
Specialist publicationChemical Engineer
Publication statusPublished - 2009

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Chemistry(all)
  • Chemical Engineering(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'New Year Honours named'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this