Personal profile

Research interests

My work focus on interdisciplinary research applied to the state of the art autonomous intelligent robotics and human-robot interaction. I am particularly interested in Evolutionary Robotics, Swarm Robotics, Biologically-inspired algorithms, Computational Neuroscience, Machine Learning, Rehabilitation Robotics and Neurorobotics. 


Patricia A. Vargas, PhD, is the Founder Director of the Robotics Laboratory, Director of Ethics and Associate Professor/Reader in Computer Science and Robotics at the School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences at Heriot–Watt University in Edinburgh, UK. She is an executive member of the Edinburgh Centre for Robotics. She is also an IEEE Senior Member and Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, plus an exec member of the IEEE Ro-Man Standing Steering Committee. She was a post-doc at the Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics, University of Sussex, UK for 3 years. Her research interests include Evolutionary and Bio-inspired Robotics, Swarm Robotics, Computational Neuroscience, Machine Learning, Human–Robot Interaction, Rehabilitation Robotics and Neurorobotics.


Expertise related to UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This person’s work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 11 - Sustainable Cities and Communities


Dive into the research topics where Patricia A. Vargas is active. These topic labels come from the works of this person. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • 1 Similar Profiles

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or
  • Spirit of Heriot-Watt Awards 2017, Outward Looking

    Lane, David Michael (Recipient), Lohan, Katrin Solveig (Recipient), Vargas, Patricia A. (Recipient), Hastie, Helen (Recipient), Broz, Frank (Recipient), Vijayakumar, Sethu (Recipient), Hermann, Michael (Recipient), Foster, Mary Ellen (Recipient), Hauert, Sabine (Recipient), Couceiro, Micael S. (Recipient), Baillie, Lynne (Recipient), Erden, Mustafa Suphi (Recipient), McEwen, Iain James (Recipient), McConnell, Alistair (Recipient), Goodfellow, Robert (Recipient), Dragone, Mauro (Recipient), Mastrogiovanni, Fulvio (Recipient), Dondrup, Christian (Recipient), Lim, Mei Yii (Recipient), Murphy, Sarah Anne (Recipient), Vallejo, Marta (Recipient), Duncan, Siobhan (Recipient) & Hassan, Mohd Khairul Azmi (Recipient), 1 Jul 2017

    Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)